To Your Health!

Welcome to Rudan Thursdays where we talk about…things! Anything from books and movies, to blog posts and authors, to food and drink.

Today I’d like to pay tribute, or tabhartas, to those posts I’ve enjoyed recently. Without further ado…

On Tuesdays, Jenny Hansen blogs about techie stuff, and this post on QR Codes is really cool. You can do so much with them, most especially use them for marketing that ah-mazing book you just published!  More recently, Jenny blogged about how physical therapy relates to writing. Really great insight, and fantastic ideas. Check it out!

Back in October, Steena Holmes posted a thinker, asking Do You Know How To Say No? This is an essential skill for the guilt-ridden writer to learn. It’s OK to say “no” to friends and family sometimes ~ sometimes, it’s even critical to do so. I gotta go re-read this one..

..Ok, back. Now, where was I? Ah, yes…

Ever wanted to go on vacation…maybe somewhere exotic…but just couldn’t see a way over the expenses to do it? Well, look no further my friends. Patricia Sands tells us this very affordable, and not so unique it turns out, way to make it happen. A big thanks to Marcia Richards for hosting Patricia and sharing the love!

Writers In The Storm, or WITS, is one of my fave blogs to read ~ they always have fantastic info, insights, and guest posters. Recently, they hosted the one…the only…the Naked Editor, Tiffany Lawson Inman. If you haven’t had the experience of Naked Editing, I suggest you check this out now. Tiffany has this idea that thrillers are not the only genre that can have thrilling page turners. She talks about how to make even the sappiest romance an on-the-edge-of-your-seat read.

In her post, The Dark Side of Metrics – Writer Friend or Ticket To Crazy Town?, Kristen Lamb cautions us writers on placing too much importance on our social media numbers. So put down the Jack and/or the cancer stick… and relax.

Elizabeth Spann, over at Mystery Writing is Murder, shared a post by Victoria Mixon about Fair Play. Y’know, letting your reader in on the joke or at least giving them a hint? If you want ‘em to stick around for 10hrs (average time it takes a reader to finish a novel), then you gotta give ‘em something. Great post!

To Jenny, Steena, Patricia, Marcia, the Gals @ WITS, *breath* Tiffany, Kristen, Elizabeth, and Victoria…Slàinte…your health!

10 thoughts on “To Your Health!

  1. Wow, Kate! I’m late to the party but DOUBLE linky love??!! You humble me.

    I love your mashups – they’re elegant and cohesive and it makes me feel like I can surely find 30 minutes to read all of these. 🙂

    How is the birthday angst going??

    1. Jenny…you post so many great blogs, it takes almost no effort to include them. I love them!

      Now I’m the one who is humbled. Thank you 🙂

      Eh, it’s going lol I have my good days and bad days, yesterday was pretty good…today, not so much 😛

Leave a comment