Yuletide and the Winter Solstice

Welcome to Tursan Tuesdays where I take you on a journey through the Celtic world.

I wanted to share a more detailed history of the Celtic celebrations for this time of year with you, but alas Day Job and family obligations have prevented me from doing so. However, allow me to offer a quick synopsis 😉  I find this information fascinating and assume you do as well, of course, so I’ve provided as many links as possible ~ tha thu di-beathte (you’re welcome)!

~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~  ~*~

While a large part of the world gears up for Christmas, another part begins celebrations of Yule and the Winter solstice.

The exact origins of Yule are shrouded in mystery. Some believe it is connected to Saturnalia, a roman festival.

Regardless, the winter solstice – and Yule – was a time when most of the work of the year, especially the harvest, was complete. It was, and is, a time for celebrating life and the fruits of labor, with neighbors wishing each other well and families cherishing their lives together.

Below is a beautiful pictorial poem written by Olivia depicting the well wishes and blessings offered during Yule and the Winter Solstice.

Taitneamh…enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Yuletide and the Winter Solstice

  1. Kate, if you want a little more information, I just did a blog post about the connections between Yule, Christmas and the birth of Mithras – all feast celebrated this time of year by the Celts – over on my blog: http://wp.me/p1CJbK-9R

Leave a comment