Dignity? What Dignity?

Welcome to Rudan Thursdays where we talk about…things! Anything from books and movies, to blog posts and authors, to food and drink, and everything in between!

Like most people, I have my moments of self-consciousness.  Though, until the other evening, I thought I had grown up enough that public embarrassment wasn’t too painful anymore.

Remember high school? *shudder*

Anyway, as I was saying, I’d considered myself to be fairly level-headed, mostly composed.

Then, the other evening, my trainer at the gym had me drape myself face-down on the work out ball.

This is not the exact exercise, but you get the idea.

Even now, all I can do is close my eyes and shake my head.

The exercise was simple: work the glutes and thighs by extending the legs out and up while keeping the abs tight and balancing on the ball.

Oh. Sure. No problem.

On the one hand, I was able to do this exercise without injuring myself.  On the other hand, my dignity took a beating.  One thing I’m thankful for?  At least I was tucked away in the far corner, mostly hidden by a machine.

I’ve been working with my trainer for several weeks now, and I didn’t realize until the other night just how far out of my comfort zone she has pushed me.  What I was able to laugh and joke about then would’ve had me berating myself endlessly just months before.

So even though she’s a torture-hungry whip cracker, I’ve gotta say, I really dig that chick.

So talk to me.  What has pushed you out of your comfort zone lately?  Any embarrassing stories you’d like to share?  How do you deal with your self-consciousness?

8 thoughts on “Dignity? What Dignity?

  1. Good on ya–that looks like an awesome workout!

    Good gosh, everytime I walk around in a bathing suit on my way to swim laps, I cringe at what the neighbors will think. Then I remind myself that they’re sitting and chatting while I’m working my butt off. I may not be the slimmest creature, but I can cover more miles than any of them (in other words, taking pride in what I do rather than what I look like . . . and I whisper to myself that I am not, of course, overweight).

  2. I’m going to be out of my comfort zone when I travel to Barcelona next week solo. Navigating the airport, figuring out the metro and getting to my hotel is already causing me a little worry 🙂

  3. Yep, nothing like showing your bum to the room while you balance on a ball to send that dignity out the front door.

    Good for you, going to the gym and working with a trainer!

  4. You are so awesome! The ball is one of my favorite workout tools. Love it. But then, I don’t work out at the gym, but in my garage so I don’t have to worry about flashing my buttocks at anyone except my trainer. Good on you for pushing out of your comfort zone!

  5. I recently started the no sweat workout using toning tables. The first time I laid on one and let this machine do the work, I felt like a total idiot! But after seeing results and getting used to the weird ways in which the machines manipulate my body, I now just lay back and enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

