Enter Strange Lands

Welcome to Tursan Tuesdays, where I take you on a journey through the Celtic world.

I recently came across this bit of fun, and immediately thought of all of you.

This is a collection of artwork from the book, “Strange Lands: A Field-Guide to the Celtic Otherworld” by Andrew L. Paciorek.

Here’s a blurb about the book, in case you haven’t picked it up yet:

“Strange Lands is a deeply researched and richly illustrated information guide to the entities and beasts of Celtic myth & legend and to the many strange beings that have entered the lore of the land through the influence of other cultures and technological evolution.Β At nearly 400 pages and featuring over 170 original illustrations, Strange Lands is an essential accompaniment for both the novice and seasoned walkers between worlds.”

So talk to me. What did you think of the faeries and other wee folk? Do you enjoy Celtic artwork? I have always love it, and I find these pieces fun and interesting. Have you read the book Strange Lands? What did you think of it?

18 thoughts on “Enter Strange Lands

  1. Fascinating book! (that I will have to find now that I know of it). I love the end where it says, ‘Strange Lands is an essential accompaniment for both the novice and seasoned walkers between worlds’. Walkers between worlds, yes that’s what I think many of us writes are. This world, an imagined world, another world beyond what we see, we walk them all and write what we experience. As for fairies and wee folk, I wish I had some living in my garden. I would make them homes and welcome them in for supper.

    1. Hi Tameri! You can click either of the links in the post to get access to the book. It’s not on Amazon or B&N. Yes! We are walkers between worlds, that was aptly put and grabbed me as well. You know, many believe faeries live all around us ~ if you leave chocolates or shiny trinkets (even some made of aluminum foil) around your yard, they will come live with you ;P

  2. I’m so adding this book to the must buy list! Love all things Celtic. Like Tameri said, I was struck by the ending, “Strange Lands is an essential accompaniment for both the novice and seasoned walkers between worlds.”

Leave a Reply

