The Other Atlantis

Welcome to Tursan Tuesdays where I take you on a journey through the Celtic world.

According to Celtic mythology, and some explorers from the distant past, there is a mysterious, perhaps phantom, island in the northern Atlantic Ocean, west of Ireland.

It is known today as Hy-Brasil.

courtesy of historicmysteries.com

(Also known as Uí Breasail, Insula de Brasil, St. Brendan’s Island, San Borondon)

You’ll recall in my last post my recent obsession with Ancient Aliens; a series on the History Channel, which explores the possibilities of aliens visiting and interacting with our ancestors hundreds, even thousands of years ago.

In the episode titled, Alien Contacts, the History Channel reveals the story of an alien encounter that occurred in December 1980. I’ve embedded a clip for your enjoyment:

As I’ve discussed with you all in the comments section of the last post, I’m naturally a skeptic: I’ll believe it when I see it.  So I’m not ready to jump on the oh-my-god-it’s-true! bandwagon just yet.

However…

What if it were true?

What would it mean?

What if there really is a mysterious island, sunken or phantom, that the aliens use as their base of operations?  What if they really do land every seven years to watch us and take notes?

What if…

So talk to me.  What do you think? Have you ever heard of Hy-Brasil?  Do you think it’s possible that James Penniston touched a UFO and was somehow telepathically given binary code which translated into an actual alien communication?

10 thoughts on “The Other Atlantis

  1. I’m not too sure on the touching an alien and the binary code thing.
    What I find interesting about Atlantis is that there are so many theories based on very little source material. There are some who believe Antarctica was in the middle of the Atlantic at one time and that was Atlantis. In my Atlantis series I mix the two theories above: that there was an Atlantis and it was destroyed. And the same force that destroyed it is coming back to destroy our present world.

    1. As a skeptic, the binary code and how the whole thing came about, seems a bit too easy. I understand Mr. Penniston feeling like he couldn’t say anything while he was still in the services because his peers or commanders “would think [he] was crazy,” but to wait 30 years? And then all of a sudden, this image in his head leads to a mysterious, maybe mythical island? Very convenient.

      As a dreamer, this is pretty freakin’ cool! I love the stories of Atlantis, and this Hy-Brasil mystery is right up my alley.

      I dig the premise of your Atlantis series, Bob! Thanks for hangin’ out 🙂

  2. Very interesting clip, Kate. I’m on the fence about alien contact, although I lean more toward yes than no.

    As for Hy-Brasil, it rang a bell. I have read of islands around England and Ireland slowly sinking beneath the waves, slow enough that it within “memory”, that is, handed down from someone’s gggggg-grandparent . I know that if the oceans magically receded 500 feet around the world, we’d find evidence of many lost cities, civilizations, paths of migrations.

    1. Your comment brings to mind something I read about in National Geographic…something about a civilization recently discovered, I wanna say its in Turkey. I can’t remember the name of the site off the top of my head, so if anyone knows chime in…

      Anyway, archeologists have been digging and dating this place for around 13 years now and supposedly its estimated to be about 12,000 yrs old – which puts most timelines off by several thousand years. If I remember correctly, they said that based on the evidence and new timing, it would put “the flood” back several thousand years…to when the last ice age ended.

      Which would explain “the flood.”

      And what I’m getting at is, that could be how these mysterious islands “disappeared.”

      Eh, it’s a theory 😛

  3. I have heard of Hy-Brazil and like all vanished places the stories vary with the teller. Islands raise and sink, that is the fun of them, especially when they happened during the dawn of history and those first experiencing it had no way of knowing it was a natural occurance.

    Do I think the guy touched a space craft? No.

    Fun post, Kate 🙂

Leave a Reply

