Ancient…Aliens?

Welcome to Rudan Thursdays where we talk about…things! Anything from books and movies, to blog posts and authors, to food and drink.

I’m still here! You may have noticed something missing from Tuesday’s post…more accurately, the post itself.. (add rim shot here) 😛

In the days since my last post I’ve been busy with family, the holidays—and world building for my new series.  In all of the excitement, I literally forgot which days were which and, yesterday morning, found myself realizing I’d totally forgotten about the tursan, or journey, I’d promised.

Whoops.

Allow me to correct this immediately.  As I said, I’ve been in a frenzy of world building.  I LOVE the History Channel.  Something I’ve always loved doing, and only recently starting using as a plotting method, is watch the History Channel.

You may not have noticed, but I sort of have a thing for history.

Anyway, on said channel a year or so ago I’d stumbled upon a program all about aliens visiting our planet thousands of years ago, and I found it fairly entertaining.  Then, over the holidays, I discovered that the producers have created an entire series based on these so-called happenings and call it, Ancient Aliens.

Basically, the entire premise is about the theory that aliens not only visited our planet in ancient times, but directly contributed to our various cultures.  The believers call it the Ancient Astronaut Theory.

This theory proposes “that historical texts, archeology and legends contain evidence of past human-extraterrestrial contact.”

They’ve even said there was a huge evolutionary jump approximately 3000 bce and the cause for this was these aliens having direct, intimate contact with our ancestors—by somehow changing our DNA in order to make us more intelligent.

More advanced.

More like them.

True?  Who knows.

There are plenty of historians and scientists who call this theory, and any related to it, pseudoscience and pseudohistory.  They state the believers in this theory take historical events, texts, and so forth and reinterpret them to suit their own purposes.  They further intimate that closely regarding these theories and holding them up to the light reveals the fragile substance and lack of foundation.

True?  Again, who really knows?

The fact is, none of us was alive thousands of years ago and so cannot say for sure who did what to whom and when.

I am no scientist…I didn’t make it past biology in high school, and I certainly have no designs on interpreting historical evidence and proclaiming it either fact or fiction.

I simply love a good story.

What I can say for a fact—this show got my creative juices flowin’.  Right from the start my imagination began creating hundreds of different scenes and quests and journeys.  The last few days have been quite the adventure 🙂

So talk to me.  What do you think?

Was our planet visited by alien beings thousands of years ago?

courtesy of thesmokingjacket.com

Did these ‘people’ teach our ancestors how to build the Egyptian pyramids…

courtesy of listverse.com

…and create mysterious places like Stonehenge?

Could the Gods in various mythologies have been aliens visiting our planet, imparting their wisdom and teaching us their technologies?

Or, is this all fantasy dreamt up by wild imaginations?

courtesy of shadowness.com
41 thoughts on “Ancient…Aliens?

  1. I think anything’s possible. The only thing we know for sure is we don’t know (much) for sure. I suppose the term “alien” could mean lots of different entities… Hmm…

    Your questions would make for a great writing prompt or novel premise. 🙂

    1. Thanks August! Like I said, I’ve been brainstorming for days. Lots of inspiration here. It is interesting that you brought up the possible definition of “alien”…those who believe in the AA theory say the correct definition of “alien” is “not of this world” which could truly be anything. As in one episode I watched recently, it could even mean…Angels!

  2. Interesting, Kate! I have no idea whether we’ve been visited by ancient aliens or not, but it sure would explain a few things. LOL It’s fun to think about and you’re so right — Lots of ideas to play with there. 😉

    1. Y’know Pat, my husband has always been a staunch believer in UFOs and aliens, and I never have been. I can’t say that this show has changed my mind because I’m a natural skeptic – I’ll believe it when I see it. But you’re right–lot’s of story ideas! 🙂

  3. I am fascinated by this stuff, too. It permeates my imagination and world-building, too. I remember waaay back when “Chariots of the Gods” hit movie theaters, but was too young to convince my parents to sit through it with me.

    I did manage to get my wife and kids to enjoy the “Evil Places” episode. She loves camping and horror, so the idea of going to a mountain named “Don’t go there!” and being horribly, bizarrely mutilated really sold it.

    I’m with you on this. Don’t tell me I live in a universe where anything’s possible and then bust me for contemplating possibilities. I’m working on these themes in my fiction, but I’ve been trying to figure out how to be more subtle in my blog. Screw it. You’ve inspired me. I’m going to go rant about this, too.

    1. LOL…I’m so glad I inspired you! Like I told Pat, I’ve never really been a believer in aliens or UFOs and to be honest, I’d never considered going full paranormal in my novels. But this show has definitely inspired me and showed me places in my imagination I didn’t realize were there.

      You do raise a good point: how can we say anything is possible…except beings from other planets? How can we have some of the craziest insects and other phenomena on this planet, but not be “the only ones in the universe”? One speaker on the show said we “earthlings” (my word lol) are arrogant for believing we are the only intelligent life in the universe – why are we so special? Interesting…

      Are there aliens? Who knows. As far as I’m concerned, who cares, because this is great story fodder! 😛

  4. Love stories like this because…well…who knows?!?! Such amazing possibilities exist out there and maybe…just maybe…
    I mean…there are a lot of things that are very hard to explain otherwise?!?!?!
    Eeeekeeee….love it!

  5. Love this post, Kate. I’m a fellow avid watcher of the History channel and I’ve seen the series you refer to (as a matter of fact a friend at work and I joke about this one). There is a wealth of fictional material sitting in all the theories of history, be they proven or not, just takes an open mind to see the possibilities.

    Thanks for sharing this with us, it spawned some interesting story ideas and I think I may have to give the series another look.

    1. Though I never believed in aliens or even the possibility of them, I’d always considered myself an open-minded person. It wasn’t until watching several of these episodes, however, that I began to question my opinion on the subject. I can’t say that I’m a convert, but I can now appreciate the possibilities.

      Can’t wait to see how this series might inspire your future writings Gene 🙂

  6. You know that’s really hard to say, but I also could not rule it out. It is amazing to me how it would be possible for the pyramids to have been built without the resources we have now. Who knows?

    1. What compounds the mystery is that it would be quite difficult for us to build the pyramids today even with the tools we have available now – yet ancient man managed brilliantly. One theory I came across was the idea of reverse electromagnetism, kind of like reversing the gravitational pull of the stones making them lighter. Interesting, no?

  7. Great post. Really makes you think about the universe and where we come from. There are so many unknowns, I think sometimes some things were meant to never be figured out. I also think as advanced as we are today, the ancient civilizations were more advanced. Could we build a Stonehenge or a Pyramid to last so long today? And do it without modern tools? Very interesting stuff.

    1. “Could we build a Stonehenge or a Pyramid to last so long today? And do it without modern tools?” That’s a really good point, and one I thought of also. We can’t even get a decent pair of shoes to last very long! 😛

    1. I think maybe your first post didn’t come through–I’m not sure what the first part of this comment refers to. I can say that the author of COTG is one of the talking heads on the show, he’s seemingly a believer in this theory. I’m not certain, but I think the Nephilim was supposed to have been either a type of angel or the decendant of an angel and a human. I could be wrong on that, though.

      Thanks for the compliment, this was a lot of fun to write and such a fascinating topic to play with 🙂

      1. COTG author points out in interviews that his book is full of question marks and “What if”s…meaning he’s speculating and questioning like the rest of us, believer or not.

        Nephilim are the progeny of angel and human. There were a trio of movies made for ABC Family a few years back about Nephilim and prophecies. They weren’t bad.

    1. Yep, that’s where I’m at too Ally. I need to see the proof before I’ll believe anything…I never just take someone’s word at face value. My husband would say it’s sometimes a failing rather than a virtue ;P

  8. I was ten years old when I read a quote from Albert Einstein:”In this unverse upon universe, are we humans so arrogant as to think we are the only ones here?” My entire thought process changed! Why would it be so impossible for ancient aliens to have visited us and given us a jump start? And how do we know they aren’t among us now, but are smart enough not to show themselves in ‘normal’ ways lest they be destroyed, stuffed and displayed in the Smithsonian? Your asking for proof that they exist suggests that you want proof in a finite way you can relate to, when they may be waiting for you to be open in an entirely different way so that you can recognize them in a manner you can’t possibly think up in limited human terms? 🙂

  9. There is also a theory out there that we are the ones that did all that ancient construction but forgot how after a major disaster destroyed everything and we had to start over again. An ancient Armageddon so to speak. I too think we’re not the only ones out here. But if that’s the case maybe we launched and some of the UFO’s are really revisiting what was for them their home planet and in the process of moving out there meet others as well.

    1. I had that very same thought while watching one of the episodes about the different flood myths. What if we were wiped out, only a few survived, and they had to start from scratch? Perhaps they were injured in the catastrophe(s) and suffered some sort of brain impairment? The earth being the home planet is a theory I know I’ve not only heard on the show, but have also read about. It’s another very interesting idea. Thanks Linda!

Leave a Reply

