Will We Meet Again?

Welcome to Tursan Tuesdays where I take you on a journey through the Celtic world.

You’ve heard the saying, “There are only two certainties in life: Death and Taxes.” But is death really a certainty?

For those that believe in reincarnation, death is just a speed bump, if you will, on the road to your next life.

Reincarnation is defined as “the belief that the soul, upon the death of the body, comes back to earth in another body or form.”

The Celts believe in continuous cycles of life; a form is born, it grows, it dies, it is reborn as another form. In their tradition, there is no finality of death ~ there is neither heaven nor hell. The soul moves on from this physical realm to the Otherworld, and is eventually reborn into another living creature.

Maybe you really were a cat in a past life!

Interestingly enough, though there are countless tales of these very happenings throughout Celtic mythology and lore, there is no documented evidence to support their definite belief in reincarnation itself.

I would venture to say, based on their belief systems and legends, that they do…but that’s just me.

There are many other cultures and traditions that believe in some form of reincarnation, or rebirth: Buddhism, Hinduism, and Native American Indians, to name a few. Some sects of Islam, African Vodun, and even Christianity also believe.

I have to admit, the thought of coming back as an African lioness or a Siberian tiger is fun at the very least, and it could help with the whole extinction problem 🙂

Billions of people around the world have some sort of belief concerning the afterlife. Most of it involves being with the people you love once you die. Whether you see them again in heaven, whether you continue on with them in the Otherworld, or even whether you are born again into the same group of people continuously for eternity.

Many have said the idea of life-everlasting, of never truly dying, of seeing your loved ones again allows them a sense of safety and comfort. Could this be the true origination of, not only the belief in reincarnation, but also of other after-life beliefs such as Christianity or Judaism?

Stories, like beliefs in what happens to us after death, have been a part of human history since the dawn of time. One reason books or movie series, in any genre, do so well is because we humans love a good story and never want it to end.

If all that happened after death was…nothing, well…that wouldn’t make for a very good story, now would it?

So talk to me. What do you think about reincarnation? Is it real? Do you think it’s possible or just a fairy tale?

19 thoughts on “Will We Meet Again?

  1. Early in my seeking adventures, the only thing that made sense to me was living many life-times in order to evolve as a soul, toward the ability to love unconditionally.

    The doctrines and traditions of men usually include comforting platitudes when we grieve for loved ones that have passed, or when we think of the massive losses in natural disasters and wars . Dire threats are preached if we don’t follow the rules … but concepts of heaven and hell don’t exist for me except in the fluctuating conditions of my own heart.

    Perhaps this instinct was passed down from my Celtic heritage!

    Regarding seeing loved ones after we pass, I believe that once we have reached the ability to love unconditionally, our love is not limited to family, but is equal toward all, so the need for seeing specific folks dissipates in the whole.

    Do I believe in God? Absolutely. The loving creative energy within, and surrounding all that is, that keeps us moving through experiences … rather like the sculptor forming something beautiful with a chisel and hammer. Can deeply hurt at times, but the results make the journey worthwile.

    Great post, Kate.

    1. Beautiful insight, Marion! I have not yet decided exactly what it is I believe, but the idea of an evolving soul learning to love all unconditionally speaks to me on many levels. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I never knew the Celts believe in reincarnation. That’s fascinating!

    I’m with you and Marion, the idea that we are always evolving to some higher understanding of love gives me comfort. Death doesn’t have to be so final, it can be an extension of lives lived and to be lived once more. I don’t want to think that when I die that’s it. Game Over.

  3. Terrific post, Kate! And inspiring. A friend of mine lost her mother recently, so the topic is timely… (I’ll pass this on to her.)

    I do believe our spirits live on in some form. I love the idea of reincarnation… Regardless, I believe our energy gets sprinkled about to others when we pass. We’re all so connected…

  4. I have a hard time believing in anything after death. But my hopes are to go to some sort of an afterlife. I am afraid of death and do not like to think about it. It makes me really sad. I have never had anyone close to me die. Whether there is an afterlife or not, I truly hope I am ready to die when the time comes.

    Thank you for this post, Kate. I want to believe in an afterlife.

    1. Hi Christine!

      I have a difficult time believing in “heaven” or an after-life where everyone, y’know, just hangs out. It just seems like an easy answer. On the other hand, I have difficulty believing that there is simply nothing after we die. If so, than what is the point of all of this life? Our minds are so powerful, how can they simply blink off, like a switch?

      I suppose this is where faith comes in…

      1. You are so right, Kate, about the brain–it seems impossible that something so alive, intricate, and complex would suddenly end when the body stops living. The spirit is likely connected to the brain, just like our thoughts and emotions are connected. I believe it is the spirit that would continue on if there is an afterlife/reincarnation. When I use the word “afterlife,” I mean anything that happens to a person’s spirit after the body dies.
        Honestly, I have a hard time believing in God because I don’t sense God. Likewise, I have a hard time believing in an afterlife, because it sounds too unbelievable and unrealistic–probably because life appears so straightforward and non-magical to me.
        But I do believe we all have spirits within our human bodies, because I can sense/feel mine. And if we each have a spirit, it must go somewhere after the body dies, because spirits are energy and wouldn’t die with the body. There would likely be a transition period to prepare the spirits before they are reborn into another life form. I think I can believe in all that. What’s more important than there being an afterlife or reincarnation, is the belief in it 🙂

      2. I understand what you mean. I used to see life as very straight forward and unmagical. I am analytical, and saw (see) everything in that way. It wasn’t until I started allowing my imagination to seep into my thought processes that I saw the potential for “magic” in things ~ flowers blooming, spiders spinning intricate webs, animals displaying tenderness and ‘human-like’ behaviors, etc. Then, these phenomena became less sterile and scientific, and more magical.

        I think of life this way now: Things our ancestors thought of as “magical” or unexplainable, we, today, now see as matter-of-fact and take in stride (i.e. airplanes, gravity, electricity, etc). So I imagine that the things we now think of as being farfetched or impossible probably have simple explanations ~ we just don’t know what they are yet…

  5. I do not usually come forward with this in the writing blogs, but I had a remarkable near-death experience in a hospital in 1985 that changed my life and removed any fear of dying. I woke up in the middle of the night–me who had never given much regard to angels–to a room full of them. They seemed to go on endlessly. I cannot express the sense of love that poured from them into me…impossible to explain the feeling. Then two appeared and ‘told me things’ athough their mouths weren’t moving. I’ve carried that incredible sense of love with me since then and I try to pass it on. I learned from them the difference between spirituality and religion, and about the difference between happiness and joy (one is a human function, the other a spiritual or soul function). One thing I was ‘told’ was this (and share this because it may help some of you who have commented): The entire universe is made up of electro-magnetic energy fields. Each of those fields vibrates at a different level. The lower the vibration, the more easily we can see it. Think of a rock–the electro-magnetic field is evolving slowly so the atoms that make up the rock are very dense and thus, very visible (OK we get this part in 8th grade physics, but the info was brought down to my level, but bear with me). Now think of an x-ray…those electro-magnetic energy fields vibrate at a higher level, so we don’t see them. We know how to capture them on film, which is a process of slowing down the electro-magnetic field by which to see the x-ray. Thus, I was told, the human electro-magnetic energy field is visible to us, but when the body dies, the soul, which moves at a higher rate and cannot be seen, still exists. And yes, it will evolve back into another human form for the purpose of learning another lesson/lessons, the purpose of which is to cause the soul’s electro-magnetic energy field to vibrate higher and higher. And as the soul evolves upward it eventually turns into pure white light, or Universal Light, or healing energy. I was shown a lot more, but too much to put here. I wrote it all down and taught for 25 years about it. Two nurses had experiences with me at the time of the NDE. Hope it helps.

    1. Wow, Kathleen. Thank you so much for sharing this. How amazing! This is along the lines of what I was trying to share in my reply to Christine (not sure that I did a good job of explaining myself) ~ that there is probably a simple explanation for the after-life, or what comes after the body dies. Explaining it in scientific terms, such as using the x-ray as an example, is exactly what I was referring to. In Medieval times, people would probably have thought the x-ray as some form of witchcraft, probably a means by which the witch would capture their souls…or some other such nonsense ;p And in fact, many people thought that very thing of photographs when the camera was first invented (that having your picture taken would capture your soul).

      I would absolutely LOVE to learn more about your experience. If you feel comfortable chatting about it with me, please e-mail me at celticsenaxi@gmail.com

      Again, thank you so much for sharing Kathleen!

  6. Well, me dear I am a follower of the Celtic Path and have been for many a year, started by my Great grandmother at a very early age and encouraged by her until she passed in 1974 close to 100 years old, she is the one that got me into the old, old coven at 15, that taught me a lot before throwing me out into the big bad world as a Hedgewitch. Now an artist, healer and being bugged into authorship, already published, but in other fields, wonder why it is that it took three full months for me to get into contact with you after your initial request, Gods lead us in indirect routes. Yes there is reincarnation, for shame those that do not believe and on their death beds worry about what follows, well, to put their minds at ease, matters not if you believe in reincarnation as reincarnation believes in you.

  7. Hi. Nice article. I can’t say for sure but I have met a few people that seem to have been around a long time when they are four years old. On the other hand I have met some folks that I suspect were dangerous viruses in a previous life. I’m not altogether sure how conciousness works.

  8. Hi. Nice article. I can’t say for sure but I have met a few people that seem to have been around a long time when they are four years old. On the other hand I have met some folks that I suspect were dangerous viruses in a previous life. I’m not altogether sure how consciousness works.

  9. When I was a kid, I wanted to be a nun, having been raised a good Catholic. However, I had strange ideas and would ask my mom questions, one being, “When we die, do we dream?” So, yeah, I know now I would not have made a good nun. Especially after I went to college. I was doing research in the library one day and came across a book on different religions. I was struck, rooted to the spot, when I read about Hinduism. It resonated with me. And I loved the Gypsies.

    I also had an English professor whom I took several classes with. We were going over 16th century literature and the poem was about being good so you could spend eternity in perpetual adoration. Which wasn’t appealing to him or to the poet. And it does make you think.

    Your article, as well as the comments, make this post really interesting and informative in seeing how others think.

Leave a Reply

