And now…Nancy Lee Badger!

Welcome to Rudan Thursdays where we talk about…things! Anything from books and movies, to blog posts and authors, to food and drink.

**CONTEST ALERT!!…CONTEST ALERT!!**

See blurb at end of post for further details ~ and don’t forget to leave your e-mail address in the comments section – after your comment of course – to enter!

I am SO excited! As I’m sure most of you can guess, I am a HUGE fan of Scottish romances. Yeah, duh. Anyway, I have the great honor of having the very talented, and might I add multi-published, Nancy Lee Badger as my guest today.

Oh, and did I mention she also volunteers at the Scottish Highland Games?

Yeah. She does.

I may just have to stalk her make her my mentor.

Alright, let’s get to it!

ME ~ Hi Nancy! *waves*

NANCY ~ Hi Kate! *waves back*

ME ~ Alright, I’m like a 3-year-old with ants in her pants. Tell us all about your book!

NANCY ~ The idea for DRAGON IN THE MIST came to me one day out of the blue. I have always been interested in all things Scottish ever since my husband started volunteering at the annual New Hampshire Highland Games. I helped off and on while raising our two boys and it is now a family affair. Bagpipers, dancers, steaming meat pies, and gorgeous hunks in kilts gave me lots of ideas. While researching Scottish dragon lore for my book DRAGON’S CURSE, I heard about the Loch Ness Monster. Some Scottish mythology portrays it as a wingless dragon. This old Scottish myth gave me plenty of ideas, and I ran with it!

ME ~ Very cool! Ok, I’ve got a two-parter for you now: First, as you know, I’m just starting out with this whole writing thing. *big grin* I consider my wip to be a (little paranormal) historical romance ~ What is the genre of DRAGON IN THE MIST? Second, I’m very interested in writing multiple genres at some point in my career, is this the only genre you write in or do you write in others?

NANCY ~ Paranormal romance as well as fantasy romance are wonderful genres. I guess you could classify DRAGON IN THE MIST and DRAGON’S CURSE as paranormal since they take place in the regular world in which we live. I even researched the locations and, for DRAGON IN THE MIST, used Scotland’s earthquake history as part of the plot. I have also written contemporary romance and romantic suspense. I have released several titles under my pen name, Nancy Lennea. I also wrote a contemporary military romance.

ME ~ Wow, that is really awesome. So, what sort of promo do you do? Do you have help?

NANCY ~ I do my own promo using suggestions I have learned from fellow writers and from workshops. I love Twitter and Facebook. I have two websites and two blogs, and I love to write articles as a guest blogger. I have written articles on Highland Games, Dragons, Scottish Ale, Folklore, and much more. I belong to several Romance Writers of America chapters, and have joined several groups on Yahoo, Facebook, and Goodreads. I have offered bookmarks and give prizes when I can. All six of my books are currently only available as e-books, which limits what types of promotion I can do.

ME ~ *taking notes* Ok, as a new author I have to beg ask you, will you share some encouraging words with me for authors still struggling for that first contract?

NANCY ~ *laughs* Do not do this alone! There are organizations, book clubs, Yahoo groups, and more. I have learned so much by attending monthly meetings of my local RWA chapter because we have dozens of successful authors who chat, share, mentor, and are there with congratulations when our newer authors achieve any accomplishment.

ME ~ Thank you so much, Nancy, for stopping by and taking the time to chat with me. We all really appreciate it! Now get back to writing more amazing stories!

Ok! And now here’s a little somethin’ on DRAGON IN THE MIST ~

Life without love is not worth living.

Nessía of the Loch has lived beneath the murky water of Loch Ness since ancient times. The pain of loneliness manifests in anger so strong, the entire valley shakes with earthquakes. In 1816, a Faerie queen pleads for her to cease the tremors and rewards Nessía with a human form. To stay human, she must find love. When the man she believes she loves casts her aside, Nessía responds to the betrayal by cursing the men of the MacDonald clan with the inability to keep a woman’s love. Only an act of true selflessness will break the curse.

After centuries pass, Nessía again searches for love. When Rory Hawthorn, an American scientist, arrives under the pretext of researching the earthquakes but in reality to research his MacDonald heritage and the curse, she believes she has found the perfect mate.

Amid stolen kisses, another earthquake, a steamy night of passion, and a broken heart, Nessía returns to the murky depths of the loch. When Rory dives in to follow her, he meets the green, scaly Loch Ness Monster. Assuming Nessía is in danger, he is intent on killing the monster and saving the woman he loves.

Title: DRAGON IN THE MIST

Author: Nancy Lee Badger

Genre: Romantic Fantasy

Length: 17,000 words

Amazon: http://amzn.to/nNpfNV

Barnes & Noble:  http://bit.ly/pzEYYh

Smashwords: http://bit.ly/oKGRDY

Haven’t had enough of Nancy? Me either! Here’s a little somethin’ extra ~

Nancy loves chocolate-chip shortbread, wool plaids wrapped around the trim waist of a Scottish Highlander, the clang of dirks and broadswords, and the sound of bagpipes in the air. Nancy lives the dream. After growing up in Huntington, New York, and raising two handsome sons in New Hampshire, Nancy moved to North Carolina where she writes full-time. She and her family continue to volunteer at the New Hampshire Highland Games each fall. Nancy is a member of RWA, Heart of Carolina Romance Writers, Sisters In Crime, FF&P Romance Writers, and the Celtic Heart Romance Writers. Nancy is also a proud Army Mom.

~ and here are all the ways we can stalk follow her ~

Check out her website www.nancyleebadger.com

and her blog www.RescuingRomance.nancyleebadger.com.

Follow her on Twitter @NLBadger

and on Facebook http://on.fb.me/scmtx5

CONTEST! CONTEST! CONTEST!

Ah yes, as promised, here’s the lowdown on the giveaway ~

To commemorate Veteran’s Day, November 11th, one lucky commenter will win an e-copy of Nancy’s contemporary military romance, UNWRAPPING CHRIS.

So talk to me! What did you think of the amazing Nancy Lee Badger? Doesn’t DRAGON IN THE MIST seem fascinating? It’s definitely going to the top of my “must read” list! Also, Nancy’s birthday is the 13th so let’s give her lots of wonderful birthday wishes!!! Alright people, comment away ~be the one to win UNWRAPPING CHRIS!!

26 thoughts on “And now…Nancy Lee Badger!

  1. Happy birthday, soon to arrive, Nancy! Will you have a piper at your celebration? Or will you give yourself the gift of a solitary day to languish in your writing?

    I enjoyed reading about your books, and the unique approach to the famous Scottish Loch Ness Character. Another addition to my wish list!

    Thanks for introducing us, Kate.

  2. Since my Scottish-American hubby is working late on Sunday (his family has been here since an endentured Scottish soldier was dropped in Exeter, NH in the 17th century) I will watch NASCAR and maybe spend time with my sister and son, Eric. (the army drill sergeant)

  3. I’m with you on loving all things Scottish, except maybe haggis. 🙂 It was fun to get to know you better. Your story sounds really great. I already have a copy of Dragon in the Mist in my Kindle and can’t wait to read it.

  4. I must admit I’ve got a bit of a weakness for shortbread too. So much so that I pretty much munched my way through Scotland. I love your books, Nancy! Your stories are an awesome escape from “real” life. Keep writing, so we can keep enjoying your way with words.

    🙂

  5. Thanks for the wonderful comments. I might ask Kate to pick a winner amongst you on Sunday, which is MY BIRTHDAY! Why should I get all the gifts!

  6. It sounds like an amazing story– after I comment I’m off to Amazon to get the scoop:) We had a very small Highland Games in our tiny town last month– it was fun, though the guys didn’t quite have the Highlander wardrobe down too well. They did have kilts, but the rest of their clothings was a tad modern. LOL It was cool though.

    Happy Birthday Nancy! My husband just had his birthday this week too.

  7. Hey Brenda! Sounds like the New Hampshire Highland Games when hubby and I first attended back around 1980. It has grown, bringing with it the pride to ‘dress appropriately’ so give the locals some time. The more who wear the total Highland dress/kilts/jackets/shoes/etc., the more will follow. NH has a ‘kilted mile’ race on the last day. Very popular. Only requirement is a runner MUST wear a kilt. 4 yr. old boys and girls to 70+ in kilts. NICE!

  8. Happy Birthday Nancy. Your books sound fantastic. You’re a new to me author, so I’ve just added your books to my books to buy list, which has gotten a little out of control lately, but hopefully I’ll catch up soon.

    drainbamaged.gyzmo at gmail.com

Leave a Reply

